Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by SamuelJayC on Tue Mar 17, 2015 12:50 am

Monaco (3) v (1) Arsenal, Tuesday 17th April 7.45pm, Stade Louis II, Champions League Last 16 second leg


Arsenal know another 3-0 win will be good enough in Monaco


Gunners head to Monaco hoping for a miracle

"We can go there and create something special". Arsène Wenger was in optimistic mood ahead of Arsenal's flight to Monaco. Despite the humiliating 3-1 defeat at home to Leonardo Jardim's side three weeks ago, the Gunners boss is adamant the club can turn the tie around in the south of France. "We want to give everything to have the greatest performance on the pitch."

History is against Arsenal on Tuesday night, despite Wenger's side winning 8 of their last 9 Premier League games and 19 of their previous 24 games in all competitions. Monaco last conceded 3 goals at home four years ago and have yet to concede a home goal in the Champions League this season. "Of course Monaco have a very solid defence," Wenger told reporters on Monday night, "we will need to be very creative in an attacking sense."

Should Arsenal fail to defy the odds and reach the last eight of the European Cup for the first time in 5 years, then attentions will turn to the Premier League and FA Cup. Wenger was asked if he ever visited the casinos in Monte Carlo during his 7 years as Monaco boss: "No, I was too busy on the pitch!" A victory on Tuesday, though, might just tempt the 65-year old to a cheeky game of Roulette on the way back to London.


Team News

Arsenal

Debuchy (shoulder), Arteta (ankle) & Gnabry (knee) are all back in training but not match-fit, Wilshere (ankle), Diaby (calf) Chamberlain (hamstring) & Rosicky (ill) remain out. Gabriel is fit again.

Monaco

Carvalho & Toulalan, who missed the first leg, are back in the squad.



Arsenal subs: Szczesny Gabriel Chambers Gibbs Flamini Walcott Welbeck
avatar
SamuelJayC
Fan Favorite
Fan Favorite

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 6396
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 27

https://twitter.com/samuelJayC

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by FRANTIC on Tue Mar 17, 2015 5:12 am

Monaco 2 Arsenal 4

Now put that in your pipe and smoke it. :brickwall:
avatar
FRANTIC
Prospect
Prospect

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 103
Join date : 2013-09-20

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by RealGunner on Tue Mar 17, 2015 5:21 am

Nothing much to say on this one.

It's either we go all out, try to make some sort of history and at least get some of our lost dignity back. Or we do nothing and just come back empty handed.

Team should be fired up. Emirates defeat was embarrassing. And Monaco is a small small chance, but it's not impossible. Anything can happen.

No need to get the hopes up, but believe in the team to achieve something impossible.

We are not expected to go through anyways.

avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 75244
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by FRANTIC on Tue Mar 17, 2015 5:26 am

Come on you gooners.
avatar
FRANTIC
Prospect
Prospect

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 103
Join date : 2013-09-20

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Raptorgunner on Tue Mar 17, 2015 5:40 am

Great work Sam.

I dont even care about this game, I wonder who we would face next round? hmm

Arsenal 3 Monaco 0. banana

_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17969
Join date : 2011-06-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Twoism on Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:06 am

we got this, sri has to take a flight to North Pole
avatar
Twoism
First Team
First Team

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 2442
Join date : 2011-06-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Sri on Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:10 am

FFS my employer has no business operations there (yet)

I will gladly take a flight for the team though bounce

(I hate missing the games when I am flying though it is a necessary sacrifice :/ )
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by RealGunner on Tue Mar 17, 2015 6:02 pm

MiracleinMonaco trending worldwide lol
avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 75244
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Raptorgunner on Tue Mar 17, 2015 6:41 pm

We got this, there is no other option.

Better believe.



_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17969
Join date : 2011-06-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Sri on Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:08 pm

Ohh you poor bastard, Rapzy. Stay safe m8.
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by FRANTIC on Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:10 pm

Arsenal hold the record for longest time in English top flight

Arsenal were the first team to play under flood lights.

Arsenal are the only team to win the Premier League unbeaten.

The list goes on. Come on Arsenal 2-4 tonight
avatar
FRANTIC
Prospect
Prospect

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 103
Join date : 2013-09-20

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Sri on Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:24 pm

I quite like FRANTIC's optimism, even though it borders on being naive Razz
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Raptorgunner on Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:43 pm

srigooner wrote:Ohh you poor bastard, Rapzy. Stay safe m8.


You guys kill me. rofl


_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17969
Join date : 2011-06-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Sri on Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:54 pm

Don't have to.. The performance tonight will take care of that tbf imho tbh fwiw :coffee:
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Raptorgunner on Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:56 pm

Whats the worse could happen? even losing 3-1 away from home is a positive result. :coffee:

_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17969
Join date : 2011-06-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Amar on Tue Mar 17, 2015 8:11 pm

I want to believe in a miracle as well, but once you keep hearing about Monaco's solid defensive and home record, it is realistically a very slim chance we go through. Even though I hope we do go all out attack, I just hope our PL form isn't impacted if we lose tonight.

Would like to see Welbeck start on the right instead of Theo...Monaco will surely be sitting deeper than normal and we all know how good Walcott is against deep lying defences Rolling Eyes

_________________
avatar
Amar
First Team
First Team

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 2226
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 27

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Sri on Tue Mar 17, 2015 8:35 pm

I'd actually go with what Arseblog wrote in his preview: Ramsey, Cazorla, Özil and Alexis in the 4 places ahead of Coquelin and behind Griroud.

We arent going to beat them with pace or counters. We have to break through them with guile and slick, accurate and incisive passes.
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Raptorgunner on Tue Mar 17, 2015 8:54 pm

Hazard: "I have a friend - Carrasco over there [at Monaco] and I wish him the best. But for English football, I hope Arsenal go through." Proud

_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17969
Join date : 2011-06-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Raptorgunner on Tue Mar 17, 2015 8:57 pm

You think Wenger will go with Giroud and Welbeck up front?

_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17969
Join date : 2011-06-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by El Gunner on Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:30 pm

No one expects us to go through anyway after that abysmal first leg, so we might as just play with freedom and see what happens.

_________________


_______________________________
@Freeza wrote:...so let the aunt have fun with her nephew.
avatar
El Gunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 11274
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 20

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Sri on Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:31 pm

Highly doubt we'll switch formations for such a crucial game.
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Sri on Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:17 pm

2h left.
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by RealGunner on Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:22 pm

avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 75244
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Sri on Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:40 pm

Don't get your hopes high lads.. I am going to keep saying this to maintain some sanity..

I feel like a nervous wreck though. :/
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Hapless_Hans on Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:44 pm

srigooner wrote:Don't get your hopes high lads.. I am going to keep saying this to maintain some sanity..

I feel like a nervous wreck though. :/


Good. What you could do to maintain sanity and help your team is to bet against me in the betting thread.

_________________
avatar
Hapless_Hans
Ballon d'Or Contender
Ballon d'Or Contender

Club Supported : AC Milan
Posts : 20609
Join date : 2013-09-17

Back to top Go down

Re: Monaco v Arsenal Preview

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum