Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by SamuelJayC on Sat May 09, 2015 8:12 am

Arsenal v Swansea, Monday 11th May 8pm, Premier League, Emirates Stadium, Sky Sports 1


Arsenal will be looking for a 10th win in 11 League games

Premier League

1. Chelsea 83pts
2. Man City 70pts
3. Arsenal 70pts
4. Man Utd 65pts
------------------
8. Swansea 53pts



Gunners look to further cement top three place

When asked on Friday morning why Arsenal had not challenged José Mourinho's side for the 2014/15 title, Arsène Wenger had no doubts why The Gunners were unable to lift a fourth Premier League title this season. "After eight games, we were eleven points behind Chelsea - that's where we lost the championship," Wenger told reporters.

Two wins in the opening eight League games - including draws with Leicester and Hull - saw Arsenal's title hopes go up in flames, even before November had arrived. It's perhaps all the more frustrating, then, that the second half of the campaign has seen Wenger's men become one of the most in-form teams in Europe. In fifteen League games in 2015, Arsenal have won twelve, drawn two and lost just one; 38 points from a possible 45 is title form.

On Monday night, Swansea travel to the Emirates looking to maintain their strong recent form; four wins in six League games has seen Garry Monk's side further cement a top eight place. "We have broken the points record already, but let's see how many more we can get whilst we have the chance," Monk told the press ahead of the visit to London.


Match facts

* Arsenal last beat Swansea in September 2013 thanks to goals from Gnabry & Ramsey.

* Swansea are currently 6 points ahead of their previous Premier League points record (47) in a season.

* Arsenal need 10 points from the remaining 4 games to beat last season's points tally (79).

* Arsenal's top scorers this season: Alexis (24 goals), Giroud (18 goals) & Ramsey (10 goals).



Team News

Arsenal

Welbeck (knee), Debuchy (hamstring), Chamberlain (groin) & Arteta (fitness) are all unavailable, whilst Ramsey (leg) is 50-50.

Swansea

Oliveira (ankle), Bartley (knee), Amat (metatarsal), Routledge (foot), Naughton (foot) & Carroll (foot) are all out, but Gomis (hamstring) returns.



Arsenal subs: Szczesny Mertesacker Monreal Flamini Wilshere Ramsey Rosicky


Last edited by SamuelJayC on Sat May 09, 2015 8:43 am; edited 3 times in total
avatar
SamuelJayC
Fan Favorite
Fan Favorite

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 6396
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 27

https://twitter.com/samuelJayC

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by Sri on Sat May 09, 2015 8:32 am

If we do overhaul last season's point total, finish higher in the table (we can be second if do pull in 10 points), score more and concede lesser than last season, and win the FA cup again - it would definitely be a season of progress.

I say this because I lost track of how many times AW used 'progress' in his pre-match.

Btw, typically good preview Sam! Thumbs up
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13657
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by Sri on Sat May 09, 2015 8:33 am

Team news: Ramsey 50/50, Welbeck definitely short.

Jack, Theo and Gibbs are 'competitively fit'
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13657
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by RealGunner on Sat May 09, 2015 1:11 pm

We struggle against Swansea but with our form and quality we should beat them.

Wonder if Walcott or WIlshere will start instead of Ramsey.

Won't mind Welbeck starting instead of Giroud either.

Gabriel can do a game.
avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 75145
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by Sri on Sat May 09, 2015 1:20 pm

Welbeck is not in the squad RG
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13657
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by RealGunner on Sat May 09, 2015 1:24 pm

oh shit forgot.

Giroud it is Molenation
avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 75145
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by El Gunner on Sun May 10, 2015 9:58 am

Arsenal last beat Swansea in September 2013 thanks to goals from Gnabry & Ramsey.
read this and I was like WHAAAAT?
This needs to change, come on Arsenal!

_________________


_______________________________
@Freeza wrote:...so let the aunt have fun with her nephew.
avatar
El Gunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 11273
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 20

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by Sri on Sun May 10, 2015 10:03 am

@El Gunner wrote:
Arsenal last beat Swansea in September 2013 thanks to goals from Gnabry & Ramsey.
read this and I was like WHAAAAT?
This needs to change, come on Arsenal!


We said something similar before the Chelsea game.

But we also said something similar before Old Trafford.

Just putting it out there. Wink
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13657
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by Raptorgunner on Sun May 10, 2015 11:06 pm

Great work Sam.

I think the pressure is on us to win tomorrow and I hope we get a comfortable home game before the United game. Second place is very important and so is FA Cup. I hate Monday games, not sure why we have to play 2 of them in row? Clubber

Swansea are decent team and we should not take them lightly and dont give them any chances.

_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17969
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by RealGunner on Mon May 11, 2015 7:02 pm

Arsenal team to play Swansea: Ospina, Bellerin, Mertesacker, Koscielny, Monreal, Coquelin, Cazorla, Ramsey, Ozil, Alexis, Giroud

Unchanged lol
avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 75145
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by Sri on Mon May 11, 2015 7:21 pm

#consistence
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13657
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by Twoism on Mon May 11, 2015 8:46 pm

Well they set up very solid two banks of four and we were quite sloppy with out passing in their final third, hopefully team could up tempo with some precision in 2nd half.

Bellerin doing much better against Montero though so that's a plus
avatar
Twoism
First Team
First Team

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 2442
Join date : 2011-06-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by RealGunner on Mon May 11, 2015 8:47 pm

Need Wilshere for Coquelin in the 2nd half. Unless they start attacking.

Basically they are cornered and any move they make will result in us winning lol
avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 75145
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by Twoism on Mon May 11, 2015 8:48 pm

Also Montero has very much a punchable face
avatar
Twoism
First Team
First Team

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 2442
Join date : 2011-06-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by Sri on Mon May 11, 2015 9:48 pm

fml
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13657
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by RealGunner on Mon May 11, 2015 9:53 pm

lmao

Ah well. 3rd is still more or less locked

avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 75145
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by mani88 on Mon May 11, 2015 9:55 pm

How many shots on target did we have. Gomis only one won areial duel and he scored from that!!!

_________________
avatar
mani88
Starlet
Starlet

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 512
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 29

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by RealGunner on Mon May 11, 2015 9:56 pm

23 shots in total. 9 on target
avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 75145
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by Sina on Mon May 11, 2015 10:05 pm

well done Swansea tbh
respectable team/manager overall
but getting undone by scrubs like Gomis/Montero Home and Away is one of low-lights of the season

_________________


"Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending."
Spoiler:
avatar
Sina
Fan Favorite
Fan Favorite

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 7912
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 26

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by Sina on Mon May 11, 2015 10:13 pm

bring on cup final already
as long as we secure automatic CL qualification these results doesn't matter

_________________


"Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending."
Spoiler:
avatar
Sina
Fan Favorite
Fan Favorite

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 7912
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 26

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by RealGunner on Mon May 11, 2015 10:47 pm

Completely agree with Sina

No idea why people are being so hyper on social media. Everyone all of a sudden forgot out form since Feb and we are back in crisis somehow.

As wenger said, this was the game we would have won 19/20 times. And he is right.

I am glad we are still discovering problems. It's better to have them now than after summer.

avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 75145
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by Artilleristen on Mon May 11, 2015 11:14 pm

@RealGunner wrote:Completely agree with Sina

No idea why people are being so hyper on social media. Everyone all of a sudden forgot out form since Feb and we are back in crisis somehow.

As wenger said, this was the game we would have won 19/20 times. And he is right.

I am glad we are still discovering problems. It's better to have them now than after summer.


It puts more pressure on finishing 3rd, and it shows a lack of finishing, or even lack of a plan b. Its natural to think that this will possibly start a run of negative, it did for Manure when they lost to Chelsea.
avatar
Artilleristen
Hot Prospect
Hot Prospect

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 455
Join date : 2011-08-05
Age : 24

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by Jay29 on Mon May 11, 2015 11:35 pm

The problem wasn't so much a lack of plan b as it was a complete lack of quality finishing and correct decision making in the final third. We made enough openings to score and win the game.

The first half was awful, from an attacking point of view. Our play was completely lacking in tempo, and we didn't produce anything decent in the final third; inaccurate through balls, overhit crosses, poor touches, over-dribbling, etc. Fabianski didn't have a save to make.

Second half we played quicker and with more intensity and we created enough chances. Alexis and Walcott missed two guilt-edged chances. Monreal had a good chance as well. But we did that thing where we're become so fixated on trying to score that we forget to keep concentrating at the back.  

Swansea's goal came from some very lacklustre defending. Monreal was beaten easily by a one-two between Sigurdsson and Barrow. The cross isn't dealt with. Bellerin doesn't do enough to prevent Montero from getting another cross in. Gomis is allowed to challenge for the header against Monreal as our backline is all over the place. Their only meaningful attack of the half and it results in a goal.

It's probably not symptomatic of a bigger issue. It was just a very off night that we didn't see coming. Goes to show that the team can't switch off for a instance.

I think that Wenger should have rotated a bit for this game, to keep things fresh and interesting. Players like Gabriel, Gibbs, Wilshere and Walcott would have been eager to perform well and get a place in the team for the cup final. Maybe that would have seen us play with a bit more urgency in the first half.
avatar
Jay29
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Sevilla
Posts : 15614
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 24

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by Twoism on Tue May 12, 2015 12:13 am

It's an off night but I can assure u Tim Sherwood the hero already wrote down every single thing Swansea players did and didnt tonite. We can not approach the final with this attitude an lackluster preparation.

@jay: players have plenty of rest so dont think rotation is an issue, maybe they already have one eye on the final.
avatar
Twoism
First Team
First Team

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 2442
Join date : 2011-06-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by El Gunner on Tue May 12, 2015 10:51 am

@RealGunner wrote:
I am glad we are still discovering problems. It's better to have them now than after summer.


lol discovering problems?

Come on let's be honest this is the same old stuff we've faced before. A team comes to the Emirates, sits deep with a organised defense, then hits us on the counter attack.

Simple really. It all comes down to our attack, intend and lethalness on the day whether we can break down that defense and win the game. Last night we were too slow most of the time, seemed incoherent and not like we really wanted the win. Not crisis mode or anything that extreme, just the loss was on the players.

_________________


_______________________________
@Freeza wrote:...so let the aunt have fun with her nephew.
avatar
El Gunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 11273
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 20

Back to top Go down

Re: Arsenal v Swansea Preview

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum