CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Sri on Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:08 am

29 September, 2015
You know, the usual stuff: Emirates Stadium, KO @ 20:45 European time



Previous Game: Leicester away, Saturday.
Next Game: Man United @ home, Sunday 16:00.

We are in the middle of a mini-death run, so to speak. A run of games, which would have been usually difficult, was made even more complicated after we completely lost the plot to a Slaven Bilic lead Zagreb and then, surprise surprise, to Chelsea again.

It was critical that our results became more representative of our performances. It was critical that Owen Gole didn't remain the only name on the scoring charts. It was critical to win a derby when we went to play Tottenham. And we did just that. Then, we carried on the momentum in the league to put away an Leicester side unbeaten till then. We finally started clicking as a team. Our strikers started finding their range. Some partnerships that we've been waiting for, finally started materializing. Better late than never!

And now it is time to take that momentum into our CL group as well. It's not an easy group with Zagreb being on the form they're on, and let's not even start on Bayern. We sit third in the group, our opponents for the evening are fourth. After this, we have a double header against Bayern, home and then away. Anything but a win tonight and we might as well write the CL R16 off. Even if we do pull off home wins against Olympiacos tonight, and Zagreb in match day 5, we still have the usual away trip to Olympiacos - that's going to be fun. For a change, we might not be playing youth and reserves there, but that's a talk for another day.

Here's what the gaffer had to say:

on whether it going too far to say it is a 'must-win' game…
Yes, you sum it up well. You have to win your home games if you want to qualify from the group stage, it is simple as that. We cannot afford to drop points now against anyone at home.

on how the Man United game affects selection for Olympiacos…
The game will not interfere with that at all. It is more the games we played before that could have an influence. Some players had two tough games at Tottenham and at Leicester, where they were a high level physically. I will have to analyse that today and make my decisions.

on lessons from matchday one…
I don’t believe it is down to selection at all, I believe that the 20 players I have available can play in every single game. I close my eyes, just take a position and I am confident we have a very strong team. On the day [at Zagreb], basically the same team played at Tottenham and won in the League Cup in a game that was much more physical, so I believe it was just on the night that we didn’t play well.


on if the approach at home is different to playing away…
It is not much different. What changes more is the attitude of our opponent. We always try to play and go forward. At home we face maybe a different kind of problem, teams regroup in front of their box and you need to be penetrative with your passing, with your movement, and clinical with your finishing.

on who is playing in goal…
I have not decided yet.

Read more at http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/20150928/extra-wenger-on-approach-to-olympiacos#fbxdriLcT8dPiMcL.99

on Coquelin returning to training…
He has been back since yesterday and I will have to see how he responds to two days of training, but he looks alright.

on Flamini and Arteta…
Both have slight muscular problems, but I think Flamini has a scan today and Arteta certainly as well.

on Gabriel back but no Giroud due to suspension…
Exactly.

on whether Flamini or Arteta are serious injuries…
No, they are not big injuries. It is a question of days.

Read more at http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/20150928/team-news-coquelin-flamini-and-arteta#mXwAkEwwCXX9tg03.99


Alright, that's about all the time I can take off from work - not enough time to do more research on our opponents. So I'll limit myself to the context and our position going into this, and leave you lads to bring up the rest.
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Raptorgunner on Tue Sep 29, 2015 2:20 pm

Good work Sri. Thumbs up

No excuses, must win. Clubber

_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17969
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Raptorgunner on Tue Sep 29, 2015 2:25 pm

I hope to see Oxlade in this game, really need him to step up his game and please no owngoal. Must work hard on is defensive duties and maybe Wenger will start him more.

Coquelin is not fully fit yetm and Chambers would be better choice to start in midfield imo. Would rather start Coquelin vs United.

_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17969
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Twoism on Tue Sep 29, 2015 3:29 pm

The pressure to win might force Wengers to play not fit Le Coq, in case he really cant make it though, will be midfield rotation of Santi, Ramsey and Ox, something we've seen b4.
avatar
Twoism
First Team
First Team

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 2442
Join date : 2011-06-06

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by urbaNRoots on Tue Sep 29, 2015 4:44 pm

Very good job, Sri Smile

Considering what Wenger said about the game against Leicester affecting our team selection tonight then I guess Ramsey is going to be rested or not if Coquelin is not fit.

Ospina
Bellerin Gabriel Koscielny Monreal
Coquelin Cazorla
Chamberlain Özil Alexis
Walcott

I would no doubt prefer Cech to start but it appears that Ospina will be our CL GK atleast until we pass the groups if we do. And Ramsey is set to be rested because he can't play 4 games in 10 days. I believe the others are all fit to start both this game and against United.

Hope Walcott can keep up his good form and Alexis/Özil can add more goals/assists meanwhile we also have to keep a cleansheet for once, Coquelin's return might help in that regard. If Oxlade-Chamberlain starts, these kind of games are the games in which he will hope to make an impression before Wilshere/Rosicky/Welbeck return and his game time is limited further.
avatar
urbaNRoots
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 14384
Join date : 2011-08-11

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by RealGunner on Tue Sep 29, 2015 5:59 pm

Please let's not risk Coquelin. He is the ONLY DM we have now lmao.

Ramsey-Cazorla or Chambers-Cazorla.


We need to win this convincingly
avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 75244
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Jay29 on Tue Sep 29, 2015 6:46 pm

avatar
Jay29
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Sevilla
Posts : 15635
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 24

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by RealGunner on Tue Sep 29, 2015 6:47 pm

Great team

avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 75244
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Raptorgunner on Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:20 pm

I dont understand why we not playing Petr Cech? tbh I don't trust Ospina at all. Laughing

I would understand if this was a FA cup or Capital one cup, but not CL.

_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17969
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Jay29 on Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:26 pm

Wenger said Cech has a slight calf problem.

Rotating keepers for the CL is hardly a new thing, in any case.
avatar
Jay29
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Sevilla
Posts : 15635
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 24

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by RealGunner on Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:27 pm

I just hope it's only for group stages
avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 75244
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by mani88 on Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:29 pm

This is pure pace. But wont be needed as they will park a tractor in their own box so there wont be any space to exploit. We can and should be deadly on the counter.

_________________
avatar
mani88
Starlet
Starlet

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 512
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 29

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Sri on Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:30 pm

Think we will build on the weekend.

We have to, and come out with more motivation, before we get our hinds handed to us by the league leaders.
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Sri on Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:56 pm

Fack me, that counter was almost orgasmic.

Imagine having Welbeck in there as well, and a bit of finishing *jizz*
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Raptorgunner on Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:59 pm

Not sure how still 0-0? rofl

_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17969
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Sri on Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:05 pm

They're defending pretty well :coffee:
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Sri on Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:10 pm

Munich 3-0 up already :coffee:
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Sri on Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:17 pm

srigooner wrote:Munich 3 4-0 up already :coffee:
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Sri on Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:18 pm

rofl
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Sri on Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:20 pm

FFEEEEEEEEEEEEOOOOOOOOOOOOO
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Sri on Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:22 pm

Get up and get on with it ffs - acting like someone squished his nutsack. Wuss.
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Sri on Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:25 pm

Fack off. Sell Ospina.
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Sri on Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:26 pm

Worse than Flappyhandski.

avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Sri on Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:27 pm

I want Szczesny back.
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13660
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Twoism on Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:28 pm

well so much for rotation huh
avatar
Twoism
First Team
First Team

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 2442
Join date : 2011-06-06

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 2015/16 Arsenal vs. Olympiacos : Preview/Live/Post-match

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum