#WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Page 4 of 20 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12 ... 20  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Hapless_Hans on Sun Mar 13, 2016 7:09 pm

The funny thing of course is Tuchel was free for a whole year, during most of which it wasn't at all clear Dortmund would be in for him (after all Klopp only decided in spring he'd quit).

In terms of finding a 'successor' for Arsene in Tuchel, you would have to have been a bit quicker (and more daring).

Now it's too late.

Of course, I don't think a man with the ego of Arsene can ultimately be capable of grooming/choosing/preparing the situation for a successor, even if he honestly intends to.
I don't think he's looking for one, either.

Someone else would have to step in there and make decisions, but noone has the authority.
That's the problem with power-concentrations like at Arsenal, or how it was at Man United.

I'm afraid you might be in a world of trouble after Arsene leaves no matter who takes over.

Hapless_Hans
Ballon d'Or Contender
Ballon d'Or Contender

Posts : 20537
Join date : 2013-09-17

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Kaladin on Sun Mar 13, 2016 7:13 pm

Pippo.
avatar
Kaladin
Ballon d'Or Contender
Ballon d'Or Contender

Club Supported : Sao Paulo
Posts : 20498
Join date : 2012-06-28
Age : 24

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by El Gunner on Sun Mar 13, 2016 7:15 pm

How sure are we Conte is Chelsea bound? hmm
I mean, I've heard rumours that Simeone could go there.

_________________


_______________________________
@Freeza wrote:...so let the aunt have fun with her nephew.
avatar
El Gunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 11273
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 20

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Jay29 on Sun Mar 13, 2016 7:16 pm

Our best hope is that we luck out and choose the right guy, or if Gazidis is secretly packing away a lot of knowledge and connections. Otherwise yes, we're going to be trouble. The lack of structure at the top will be shown the same way it has at United.
avatar
Jay29
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Sevilla
Posts : 15614
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 24

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by RealGunner on Sun Mar 13, 2016 7:33 pm

43 games now in all competitions this season and Arsenal have won 22 of them
avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 75145
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Firenze on Sun Mar 13, 2016 7:43 pm

arsenal should look at cocu imo
avatar
Firenze
Ballon d'Or Contender
Ballon d'Or Contender

Club Supported : Inter Milan
Posts : 20610
Join date : 2012-04-25

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Jay29 on Sun Mar 13, 2016 7:44 pm

Our record in 2016 so far:

Played: 16
Won: 6 (Newcastle, Sunderland, Burnley, Leicester, Bournemouth, Hull) <- Four at home, one away
Drawn: 5 (Liverpool, Stoke, Southampton, Hull, Spurs) <- Two at home, three away
Lost: 5 (Chelsea, Swansea, Barcelona, Watford, Man Utd) <- Four of these at Fortress Emirates.

Form: WWDDLWDWWDLLLDWL

Mid-table form this year so far.
avatar
Jay29
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Sevilla
Posts : 15614
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 24

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by RealGunner on Sun Mar 13, 2016 7:46 pm

As a club we used to take pride in attacking football with lots of goals

Now club lead by Tony Pulis has more goals at home than us. Ridiculous.

avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 75145
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by free_cat on Mon Mar 14, 2016 9:00 am

Valverde and Emery are great cocaches too.

@Jay29 wrote:

Pellegrini would be a decent option for a couple of years.


Come to think about it, Pellegrini would be Wenger's perfect replacement.
They are both old, past it, tactically inept and unenergetic managers who don't know how to keep their stars helathy.

_________________
avatar
free_cat
Fan Favorite
Fan Favorite

Club Supported : Barcelona
Posts : 8544
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Kick on Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:22 am

@El Gunner wrote:How sure are we Conte is Chelsea bound? hmm
I mean, I've heard rumours that Simeone could go there.


Just to clarify this, he is 99% bound to come to us.

Simeone and Allegri rumours died in early Feb and Sampaoli recently said that the job was between him and Conte, and he lost to Conte because Conte could speak English.

Conte has been meeting regularly with our board in recent weeks so it'll be done soon, perhaps even this week if you believe everything the media says.

TLDR, Conte to Chelsea is 99% done.

_________________


#Carefree #kaspbffl
avatar
Kick
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Chelsea
Posts : 33325
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 24

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Hapless_Hans on Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:52 am

Two sentences requiring a tldr Laughing

_________________
avatar
Hapless_Hans
Ballon d'Or Contender
Ballon d'Or Contender

Club Supported : AC Milan
Posts : 20537
Join date : 2013-09-17

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Great Leader Sprucenuce on Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:54 am

Technically it's 3 hmm

Spoiler:
Inb4 let's not get into technicalities

_________________
avatar
Great Leader Sprucenuce
Forum Legend
Forum Legend

Club Supported : PSG
Posts : 58435
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 27

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Kick on Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:57 am

@Hapless_Hans wrote:Two sentences requiring a tldr Laughing


Thought it was longer and they wouldn't care about the technicalities hmm

_________________


#Carefree #kaspbffl
avatar
Kick
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Chelsea
Posts : 33325
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 24

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Hapless_Hans on Mon Mar 14, 2016 12:02 pm

@Great Leader Sprucenuce wrote:Technically it's 3 hmm

Spoiler:
Inb4 let's not get into technicalities


Yes, but the first sentence is the exact same as the summary

_________________
avatar
Hapless_Hans
Ballon d'Or Contender
Ballon d'Or Contender

Club Supported : AC Milan
Posts : 20537
Join date : 2013-09-17

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by MJ on Mon Mar 14, 2016 12:47 pm

can someone tl;dr me the last four posts? Sleep

_________________
"I thought football's greatest honour was representing your country. I was wrong. It was playing for Arsenal." - Joe Mercer


avatar
MJ
Fan Favorite
Fan Favorite

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 8106
Join date : 2011-06-06

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Chumlum on Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:27 pm

If the post-Wenger adjustment period, whenever it begins, is by necessity going to be a hectic multi-year mess a la post-SAF Man Utd, then I at least hope it's entertaining.

Bielsa? Wheeeeeeee.

For the record, I still think that people sometimes overlook the importance of stability in light of novelty, because we've been around this block before and so at this point mere difference in how our seasons play out would be appealing. But. 'Is Wenger underperforming because his time has passed (and maybe he should go)?' is a different question than 'Is Wenger shit, because any chimpanzee in a zoo could manage the club better!?'

The thing is that Wenger at his worst, performing below expectations and failing to seize great opportunities like the PL this season ... is still performing better than the vast majority of alternatives. I'm not saying this to be pro- or anti- anything. I think it's simply true. You can think he's falling short and still acknowledge he's better than just panic-appointing a manager like Moyes.

Wenger has done a lot to ensure the long-term health of Arsenal, and for that he deserves credit. I do hope that people at the club have been keeping an eye on how to transition to a new manager though, however surreptitiously.

And I hope that whoever is managing Arsenal in 12-24 months' time is tactically flexible, a good man manager, but also fast & ruthless in terms of how he has his squad approach play on the pitch.
avatar
Chumlum
First Team
First Team

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 2355
Join date : 2012-08-07

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Raptorgunner on Mon Mar 14, 2016 2:30 pm

Financial stability means nothing when your owner coming out and saying he didn't buy Arsenal to win trophies.

He has Wenger to thank for it, you may think what Wenger did is great but its the reason we have no ambition. Top4 is our aim and will be for a long time. Wenger is profit machine and not a winner, and not mater what the fans think he will continue to stay beyond his current contract.


Last edited by Raptorgunner on Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:51 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17969
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Twoism on Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:16 pm

Before we all wet ourselves with prospect replacements, gonna go into doom & gloom mode

1. Wengers will have to leave/ be sacked ( yeah right lol) for the new guy to come in this summer. Very unlikely btw

2. If and I mean big if Wengers leave, he will probably jump into some important position in club hierarchy, most likely DOF because lets face it our board aside from Grazidis knows fukc all about football. I bet if u ask Stan who Conte or Tuchel or Allergi is, he will shrug off with his smug face.

3. Stan will ask Wengers bless the club with his successor selection ( similar to Sir Alex) with certain quality that Stan & co think is important to the club value ( business).

4. Wengers no 2 is selected and will work under the same ambition/ expectation & budget, oh and probably with complete consulting from Wengers no 1.

New coach is nice but I would like a new owner comes with it because so far every word coming our of our current owner is disgusting.

avatar
Twoism
First Team
First Team

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 2442
Join date : 2011-06-06

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Jay29 on Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:25 pm

The thing is that Wenger at his worst, performing below expectations and failing to seize great opportunities like the PL this season ... is still performing better than the vast majority of alternatives. I'm not saying this to be pro- or anti- anything. I think it's simply true. You can think he's falling short and still acknowledge he's better than just panic-appointing a manager like Moyes.

In that case, why should the club accept a manager performing at his worst and below expectations? Why does it continue to have this policy of "just leave it to Wenger" when the results he's producing, although consistent, aren't what we want?

Generally, a club of this size will seek to change things if the current manager isn't achieving what he should. It's simply how competition works. If a club keeps resting on its laurels like we've be doing they'll get left behind. As it is, Arsenal aren't trying to be competitive with its current set-up. They're taking tiny steps forward every year when they don't have to; they could splash £100mil on transfer fees this summer and re-coup the majority of it from TV money alone in one season.

But chances are, Wenger will stay in charge, he'll determine there's no real value in the market and continue to play it safe with the players he has - the same players he can't even get playing in a cohesive way anymore - and then proceed to find some sort of excuse for why the team hasn't progressed. At best he might sign one top class player that happens to become available but then neglect the other areas that need strengthening.

I'm not saying a new manager will insta-fix everything because clearly this club has lots of problems on-and-off the pitch, but you won't get very far in this sport if all you do is play it safe out of fear the next guy won't do any better.
avatar
Jay29
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Sevilla
Posts : 15614
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 24

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Kick on Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:05 pm

@MJ wrote:can someone tl;dr me the last four posts? Sleep


Tl;DR, Conte is 99% going to Chelsea, Hans is a pos.

_________________


#Carefree #kaspbffl
avatar
Kick
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Chelsea
Posts : 33325
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 24

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Sina on Tue Mar 15, 2016 1:57 am

if we say Simeone,Tuchel& Allegri are unrealistic

Thinking of
Marcelino(Villarreal)
R.Schmidt(Bayer)
Sousa(Fiorentina)

possibly other candidates who could step it up and taking a challenge at bigger club

_________________


"Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending."
Spoiler:
avatar
Sina
Fan Favorite
Fan Favorite

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 7912
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 26

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Chumlum on Tue Mar 15, 2016 6:10 am

@Jay29 wrote:
The thing is that Wenger at his worst, performing below expectations and failing to seize great opportunities like the PL this season ... is still performing better than the vast majority of alternatives. I'm not saying this to be pro- or anti- anything. I think it's simply true. You can think he's falling short and still acknowledge he's better than just panic-appointing a manager like Moyes.

In that case, why should the club accept a manager performing at his worst and below expectations? Why does it continue to have this policy of "just leave it to Wenger" when the results he's producing, although consistent, aren't what we want?


Well, there's no reason anyone needs to accept subpar Wenger. I can certainly understand the reasons why he & Arsenal might be better off parting ways this summer.

However, the promises of novelty can provide their own pipe dreams that might be as head-in-the-sand as being blind to Wenger's faults. That's ultimately all I'm saying.
avatar
Chumlum
First Team
First Team

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 2355
Join date : 2012-08-07

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Onyx on Tue Mar 15, 2016 10:06 am

If I was an Arsenal fan, I'd want an in form proven manager who has a good record of winning major trophies. This isn't the time for midcard experimental managers who play 'good football' and finish 4th with Villarreal/Schalke every year. I fear that if Arsenal went for such a manager, their standards would drop. Especially since they'd want to give the manager 'time', because he's young or whatever.

Onyx
Forum Legend
Forum Legend

Club Supported : Manchester United
Posts : 39627
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Peccadillo on Wed Mar 16, 2016 1:21 am

would need to hire a whole bunch of back-room staffers too because I doubt there are any managers who can come in to Arsenal and take carriage of all his duties/roles. To me that's more important for an easy transition.

Can hire any old interim manager to give some heart-felt team talks and spawn some "leaders"
avatar
Peccadillo
First Team
First Team

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 1051
Join date : 2012-08-14
Age : 30

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Sri on Thu Mar 17, 2016 7:51 am

Spoiler:
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
Posts : 13657
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Kaladin on Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:40 am

Thats how it starts, the fever, the rage, the feeling of powerlessness that turns good men..cruel
avatar
Kaladin
Ballon d'Or Contender
Ballon d'Or Contender

Club Supported : Sao Paulo
Posts : 20498
Join date : 2012-06-28
Age : 24

Back to top Go down

Re: #WengerOut - This is definitely the definitive opinion

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 4 of 20 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12 ... 20  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum