CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Page 1 of 5 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Hapless_Hans on Mon Oct 19, 2015 5:00 pm

vs

Champions League 2015/16, Group F, Match Day 3
Tuesday 20th October: 19:45 BST, Emirates Stadium




Arsène Wenger wrote:“What we want to do tomorrow is win the game. We want to defend well, attack well, score the first goal, that is massively important in the big games”



As I've been sensing a certain reluctancy among the GL Arsenal faction to get emotionally involved in this season's Champions League campaign, I've taken the liberty to make a preview thread for you guys, to celebrate the upcoming game between both heavyweights.
So here we go.

"While it's certainly quite odd that they have 0 points and are sitting last of the table in the group, Arsenal are the 2nd placed team in the Premier League, and this tells you all you need to know about the quality they possess", Bayern CEO Karl-Heinz Rummenigge warned when his team was departing for London; indicating the amount of awe Bayern feel in face of the upcoming game at the Emirates.

Bayern are well advised to be warned, too, as Arsenal's record under Wenger vs Bayern in the Champions League era is by no means a negative one: 2 wins, 4 draws, 2 losses* paint the clear picture of a meeting on eye level.

While Arsenal maybe could be a little suspected of not taking the first two games seriously enough, with their focus having been much stronger in the Premier League than it has been in Europe, the group table situation now ensures that the focus in this game will be exactly the same as in the Premier League.
And a fully focused Arsenal side are able to beat anyone on their day, as Wenger is quick to remind us:
"We played great Bayern teams, at least as good as the one tomorrow, and beat them - the one that won the treble with Ribery at full power, Robben at full power and Kroos, Schweinsteiger and Muller in midfield so I believe we have played good Bayern sides and got good results against them."
Technically speaking, both Ribéry and Schweinsteiger weren't available and playing in Arsenal's 2:0 win at the Allianz-Arena in 2013, but let's not get into that. Because guess what - they won't be playing tomorrow either, and neither will Robben, Gomez, Van Buyten, Gustavo, Mandzukic, Kroos.
Bayern, on the other hand, have never faced an Arsenal side boasting the likes of Alexis, Bellerin, Gabriel; so it is surely fair to say the cards have been thoroughly reshuffled and everything is possible.

"There is no team without weaknesses", Wenger concluded in his press conference.
In his plot to exploit Bayern's, starting strong is key: “You can never promise you will score three goals in 20 minutes because that would be absolutely crazy. What we can do is start in a strong way and that is what we will try to do.”

This effort will be helped by tomorrow's organized protest against horrendous ticket prices
from Bayern's travelling fans, which will see them leaving their blocks empty for the first 5 minutes of the game.
With the Utd game in mind, who knows -maybe these five minutes without a 12th man resistance will suffice for the Arsenal faithful to get their money's worth?

TEAM NEWS

Without having bothered to check, I'm certain Arsenal will have to do without Jack Wilshere, Danny Welbeck, and countless other invaluable squad members.
David Ospina is out for the game too, forcing Wenger to field his CL backup option Petr Cech.
Gabriel is fit to play.

On the Bayern side, merely Benatia, Badstuber, Rode, Götze, Ribéry, Robben are out injured, while Coman, Martinez and Vidal are struggling but have traveled.

POSSIBLE LINEUPS


Arsenal
Cech - Bellerin, Gabriel, Koscielny, Monreal, Coquelin, Cazorla, Ramsey, Özil, Alexis, Walcott

Bayern
Neuer - Lahm, Boateng, Alaba, Bernat, Alonso, Vidal, Thiago, Costa, Müller, Lewandowski.

Please add your 'COYG's beneath.

*some say it's 2W, 2D, 4L.


Last edited by Hapless_Hans on Tue Oct 20, 2015 1:28 pm; edited 2 times in total

_________________
avatar
Hapless_Hans
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Bayern Munich
Posts : 18960
Join date : 2013-09-17

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Myesyats on Mon Oct 19, 2015 5:13 pm

2-0 for Bayern imho

_________________
“In every battle there comes a time when both sides consider themselves beaten, then he who continues the attack wins.”
avatar
Myesyats
Fan Favorite
Fan Favorite

Club Supported : Atletico Madrid
Posts : 6293
Join date : 2015-05-03

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Raptorgunner on Mon Oct 19, 2015 5:33 pm

Great work Hans. :bow:

A draw would be like a trophy. cheers

_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17938
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Raptorgunner on Mon Oct 19, 2015 5:36 pm

Wenger" We want to defend well, attack well, score the first goal,

Wenger wants it all, I guess Santa is coming early this year. rofl

_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17938
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Jay29 on Mon Oct 19, 2015 7:04 pm

I'm sure Arsenal will play counter-attacking, which actually worries me, because the last two times we've tried that against Chelsea in the Com. Shield and United recently, our counter-attacks haven't been anything great and we've spent a lot of time unable to get out of our half. Against Bayern that would be fatal. We've got the weapons to hurt them, we just need to come up with a way of actually using them.

What's essential for us is to replicate the 20 minutes against United, or the first 10 minutes against Bayern two seasons ago where we won and missed a penalty. Wenger's spot on about the first goal being decisive. Getting that will give us every chance.

Bellerin against Costa is going to be such a key battle. Bayern have been excellent at isolating Costa against opposition full-backs, and Costa, in his current form, can roast any defender and provide excellent service. This'll be Bellerin's toughest test as a defender since he's broken through.

I hope for a memorable win, but my only expectation for the game is that we give full effort and not make it easy for Bayern to beat us, should they do so. I don't want to be saying after the game "errors cost us"/"so and so made a mistake"/"so and so really underperformed"/etc.
avatar
Jay29
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Sevilla
Posts : 15137
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 24

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Sri on Mon Oct 19, 2015 7:06 pm

Hans, you POS.

Did you think nobody would notice how you have not mentioned the possibility of Bayern humiliating Arsenal as one of the vote options?

Did you think it would be that easy to invoke the almighty powers of GL JINX and not one soul would realize it?

Called you jinx.

You can no go back to where you came from, evil demon.


BAYERN TO WIN 0-3.
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : RO Blank
Posts : 13522
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Hapless_Hans on Mon Oct 19, 2015 7:15 pm

I wanted to remove the poll after posting tbh because it's slightly, or much, too silly, but it can't be edited away.

_________________
avatar
Hapless_Hans
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Bayern Munich
Posts : 18960
Join date : 2013-09-17

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Raptorgunner on Mon Oct 19, 2015 7:47 pm

Somethings never change, Arsenal start the game well and miss few good chances and by half time its 2-0 Bayern.
Second half Arsenal put more pressure on Bayern and make it 2-1. Shocked Late in to the game Koscielny will tie it up with a strong header and right from Kick Arsenal will have a own by Oxlade, who just came on for Theo with few minutes to go. Laughing

Bayern 3 Arsenal 2. :coffee:

_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17938
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Raptorgunner on Mon Oct 19, 2015 7:55 pm

Arsene Wenger: I might rest Mesut Ozil and Alexis Sanchez for Arsenal vs Bayern Munich

http://www.standard.co.uk/sport/football/arsene-wenger-i-might-rest-mesut-ozil-and-alexis-sanchez-for-arsenals-game-against-bayern-munich-a3093211.html

_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17938
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Hapless_Hans on Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:03 pm

@Raptorgunner wrote:Arsene Wenger: I might rest Mesut Ozil and Alexis Sanchez for Arsenal vs Bayern Munich

http://www.standard.co.uk/sport/football/arsene-wenger-i-might-rest-mesut-ozil-and-alexis-sanchez-for-arsenals-game-against-bayern-munich-a3093211.html


That's what he said after the Watford game though.
In the pre Bayern match conference, he said they'll start

_________________
avatar
Hapless_Hans
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Bayern Munich
Posts : 18960
Join date : 2013-09-17

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by RealGunner on Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:19 pm

Nice of you to make the preview Hans, but should have asked in the lobby first since Urban really wanted to make this one.

avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 72565
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by RealGunner on Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:21 pm

Regarding the game

It's a straight forward loss. No need to beat around the bush. And it's not a defeatist mentality. If we got trashed by Zagreb and couldn't even beat Olympiacos. We have no chance in hell against the best team in the world.

At best we can hope for a draw or to lose with dignity. At worse, lewa will score 3 past us at least.

Whatever though. Not like winning will change anything.

Hopefully our players give their all though.
avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 72565
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Hapless_Hans on Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:22 pm

@RealGunner wrote:Nice of you to make the preview Hans, but should have asked in the lobby first since Urban really wanted to make this one.



Then move this one to the Bayern section hmm

Could you remove the poll?

_________________
avatar
Hapless_Hans
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Bayern Munich
Posts : 18960
Join date : 2013-09-17

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by RealGunner on Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:26 pm

Nah, it's fine. I am sure he'll say what he wants to via reply anyways lol.

avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 72565
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by urbaNRoots on Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:26 pm

Nah man leave it, I was doing one but this is better.

Really need to beat the fraudulent Pep.

_________________
avatar
urbaNRoots
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 14131
Join date : 2011-08-11

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by urbaNRoots on Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:31 pm

Ospina is not really injured, I'm sure of it but Wenger being the gentlemen he is will not shame him and admit he dropped Ospina in Cech's favour after his performance against Olympiakos.

_________________
avatar
urbaNRoots
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 14131
Join date : 2011-08-11

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by RealGunner on Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:34 pm

Yea was thinking that too lol.

I really want to see how Coquelin, Bellerin and Monreal do tomorrow tbh. We love and hype them but it's probably going to be their biggest test.


avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 72565
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by RealGunner on Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:36 pm

Thomas Müller: "It's always great to play at the Emirates. The pitch is similar to a carpet in your front room"

Müller: "Arsenal play offensive football, we like to play against offensive teams, it's much more fun"

Proud
avatar
RealGunner
Admin
Admin

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 72565
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by urbaNRoots on Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:41 pm

I hope Wenger will not start Giroud because he scored against Watford, that would really be an incredible buzzkill. Highline vs Giroud, there will always be one winner.

_________________
avatar
urbaNRoots
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 14131
Join date : 2011-08-11

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Raptorgunner on Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:54 pm

@urbaNRoots wrote:I hope Wenger will not start Giroud because he scored against Watford, that would really be an incredible buzzkill. Highline vs Giroud, there will always be one winner.


The way Wenger sees it, Giroud scored and Theo didn't. Clubber

_________________
avatar
Raptorgunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 17938
Join date : 2011-06-05

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Myesyats on Mon Oct 19, 2015 9:20 pm

@RealGunner wrote:Thomas Müller: "It's always great to play at the Emirates. The pitch is similar to a carpet in your front room"

Müller: "Arsenal play offensive football, we like to play against offensive teams, it's much more fun"

Proud

this guy Laughing

_________________
“In every battle there comes a time when both sides consider themselves beaten, then he who continues the attack wins.”
avatar
Myesyats
Fan Favorite
Fan Favorite

Club Supported : Atletico Madrid
Posts : 6293
Join date : 2015-05-03

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Sri on Tue Oct 20, 2015 8:39 am

@urbaNRoots wrote:

Really need to beat the fraudulent Pep.


:bow:
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : RO Blank
Posts : 13522
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by El Gunner on Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:17 am

Why this is really pleasant of you Hans.
Thank you. And I hope your team loses.

_________________
avatar
El Gunner
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Arsenal
Posts : 10787
Join date : 2011-06-05
Age : 20

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Hapless_Hans on Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:40 pm

You guys are really strange.

When I'm making honest and heartfelt posts, I'm accused of trolling.
This time, when I'm really trolling, even if very tastefully, you thank me and give me compliments hmm

_________________
avatar
Hapless_Hans
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : Bayern Munich
Posts : 18960
Join date : 2013-09-17

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Sri on Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:59 pm

#Sarcasm
avatar
Sri
World Class Contributor
World Class Contributor

Club Supported : RO Blank
Posts : 13522
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Re: CL 15/16 Match Day 3: Arsenal FC vs FC Bayern München Preview

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 5 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum