kiranr
beatrixasdfghjk.
Soul
9 posters

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

Go down

Economists Empty Economists

Post by Soul Wed 26 Oct 2011 - 6:35

I'm a student of Economics but the syllabus never covered Stock Exchange or sale of shares in detail in high school nor college. It's a topic that very interests me not only because I plan to speculate as a secondary source of income in the future but also since its a very intriguing way of raising finance.

I actually feel very inferior despite my results as I do not possess enough knowledge regarding shares. Heck, the only clear picture I have about Wall Street is Wall Street: Money never sleeps movie Razz

I've been doing some reading and I've got some doubts I hope some of you can help me with:

1. Doesn't the firm lose in the long run if they are selling shares? Not only they risk losing ownership, but they are forever obliged to pay dividends. Perhaps its a smaller cost compared to the benefits of expansion made possible due to the high capital raised?

2. Does the sale of secondary shares, (is it sale of shares between a current shareholder and a potential one?) benefit the company directly financially?

I'd really appreciate if you could provide me some source material to read on. Some articles I've read contradict each other so I'd like a clear picture before I start investing
Soul
Soul
First Team
First Team

Club Supported : Corinthians

Back to top Go down

Economists Empty Re: Economists

Post by beatrixasdfghjk. Wed 26 Oct 2011 - 8:38

Well, answering your second question, secondary shares don't do anything for the company; just changes the ownership of the company and who the dividends get paid to.

For the first one, it depends, I guess. For extra funds for expansion, you're either going to have to sell shares, or take a loan. If your company goes bankrupt, you wouldn't owe any financial institutions any money, I don't think?