ELO
VivaStPauli
Luca
TheRedStag
viepr149
Balzo1
14 posters

Go down

Buying football cleats for the very first time Empty Buying football cleats for the very first time

Post by Balzo1 Fri 09 Aug 2013, 15:48

Hi, I'm going to start playing football in a club very soon, and I'd like to buy some cleats in the near future. However I'm a bit confused, because I don't know whether I will be playing on fake turf or real grass. (I think a mix... I know they have a fake turf field). I also don't know which position I will be playing (tho not CB or GK).

So two questions:

1. Since I am just an amateur, does it really matter which cleats I buy for my position? (In that case I'll have to wait till I start and the coach tells me where I should play?)

2. I'm very confused on this fake turf - real turf thing. Do I need two seperate cleats for each type of grass? Also I've heard of football cleats that are playable on fake and real turf. Would these be good to get, or are they rubbish?

Any other advice you have for me?
Thanks!!

Balzo1
Prospect
Prospect

Back to top Go down

Buying football cleats for the very first time Empty Re: Buying football cleats for the very first time

Post by viepr149 Fri 09 Aug 2013, 18:10

Buy normal soccer cleats. They work on turf and give you way more traction than "turf" shoes.

Don't spend too much on them because its your first pair. Around $100, you want a shoe that fits nice and snug. But if you go too cheap (Like I bought a pair at Wal-Mart for $20 because I sent in my F50's to Adidas cause they broke. The Wal-Mart shoes were bad, didn't give good base of support and did not fit good at all.)

Stay with either Nike or Adidas because they have generous return policies if anything happens to the shoes. Generally when you play on turf the shoe takes more of a beating because it's a harder playing surface. (If anything does happen Google their customer service return number and you send the shoes into them. They will send you a new pair)